top of page

The website for the Combined Honours in Social Sciences student community at Durham University.

Search

Meet the staff: Jennifer Davison

A chance to get to know CHSS Programme Administrator Jennifer Davison!


How long have you been working for CHSS and what do you do here?

I’ve been working for CHSS since 2013 when I first joined the university. As the CHSS Administrator I provide administrative support to the Director and for the programme. This involves liaising with colleagues in the Social Sciences and Arts and Humanities departments, the Faculty office, colleges and central services such as the Immigration Office, Disability Support and Student Records. My work includes responding to student queries regarding things such as module registration, the regulations, absences, and general queries; contacting departments regarding absences, concessions and processing the appropriate paperwork; collating induction and registration details from all departments; updating and disseminating important information via email and duo; exam board preparation work and committee administration.


Do you have any particular subjects of interest?

I studied French and German at university, but since learning more about the subjects on offer within CHSS I think I wouldn’t mind combining about another 6 different subjects!


What’s your favourite part of your job?

I like helping current and prospective students with their queries and providing advice and guidance. Even though I’ve worked in the CHSS department for over 6 years there’s always new and different queries to answer.

Also, working in CHSS has meant I have got to know a lot of people across the university due to dealing with all the departments involved in the programme, so I’m pleased to have a good number of contacts. If I’m asked a question that I’m not sure about, there’s always some-one I know who will be able to help.


Where is your favourite place in Durham?

We’re spoilt for choice for great places in Durham. My favourites include the Botanic Gardens, walking along the river, the walk from South Bailey to the Cathedral and, although I know not many people do, I really like the view of the DSU building from Kingsgate Bridge.


What advice would you give for new CHSS students?

I’d advise new CHSS students to not be afraid to ask questions. Ask me / ask Megan / ask your peer mentor / ask your college support office. If there is anything at all you’re uncertain about, just drop me an email and I am always pleased to help. There’s a lot to take in in the first few days and weeks and we’d much rather you get in touch than struggle.

63 views0 comments
bottom of page