top of page

The website for the Combined Honours in Social Sciences student community at Durham University.

Search

Diversity project: A mature student's journey through CHSS




‘Journeys’ is a Durham University Careers & Enterprise project, capturing and sharing the experiences of Durham University students and alumni from diverse backgrounds. Emma Gascoigne shares her journey below.


Name: Emma Gascoigne


Degree Title: Combined Honours in Social Sciences


College: Trevelyan College


Year of graduation: 2022


Can you tell us a bit about yourself and your career journey?


I spent many years working in sales and recruitment roles which never felt right for me. I wanted to do something different, so I enrolled on an Access to Higher Education course at my local college in Humanities. I worked part-time in customer service and also gained experience as a volunteer at my local community centre where I ended up running a weekly arts and crafts club with primary school children, which I absolutely loved. I applied to Durham University and was accepted onto the Combined Honours in Social Sciences degree. Due to previous study at this level, I was able to transfer some of my credits to begin the course in year 2, which was a daunting prospect! However, it has worked out better than I could have imagined.


I thoroughly enjoy my course, particularly being able to pick modules from a

range of different subjects, as I have a wide range of interests. The knowledge and skills

I’ve acquired throughout my time at Durham have given me the confidence to continue

further in higher education, and I have accepted a place to study a master's degree in

Social and Economic History, which will provide training in research methods essential

for studying a PhD. The Durham University Careers Service have been brilliant at

sending emails and signposting events, courses and graduate schemes tailored to my

career interests. It is through this correspondence that I learnt more about

postgraduate study at Durham University. I am glad to be a part of Durham University,

and I look forwards to the continuing support provided by the careers service as I

progress through my master's degree and beyond.


Have you experienced any barriers to your professional development because

of your identity or background? If so what are they?


I am a mature student, aged 33 when I returned to full time education. I’m also the first

person in my family to go to university, and I definitely suffered from imposter

syndrome at the beginning of my studies. I gave birth to my son towards the end of year 2. Sitting exams and completing assignments with a newborn has been somewhat

challenging, but the University have been nothing but supportive and understanding,

allowing my son to “take part” in online seminars when I’ve been unable to find

childcare. The COVID-19 pandemic has meant that all of my studies have been online.

Whilst online learning sometimes presents its challenges, such as connection problems, with having my son to care for, it has actually worked out for the best for me. I wouldn’t have been able to complete my degree were it not for the online lectures and seminars. I think the university has adapted really well to the problems presented by the pandemic, and I hope it continues to provide flexible study options for those unable to attend in person. Regarding job applications and interviews, Durham Careers Service provide lots of useful tools to give students the best chance of succeeding. My family have also been very supportive by taking care of my son so that I can complete applications and interviews without any distractions.



Have you accessed or undertaken any specific careers-related activity or

support in relation to your background or identity during or after your time

at Durham University?


The academic skills workshops run by the University have been really useful for my

writing skills, which has given me the confidence to apply for postgraduate study,

graduate schemes and graduate level jobs. Because of these workshops, I feel much less

of an imposter than I did at the beginning. My improved self-esteem has given me faith

in my skills and abilities, and the end result is an offer from Durham University to

study a master’s degree from this September!


What would your advice be to students who are from a similar background?


Don’t let self-doubt put you off. Durham University are very supportive and make you

feel included from day one. If I can do it, as a first generation student from a working-

class background, with a newborn baby to care for, anyone can do it. I really believe that

education is for everyone. You just have to go for it! You’ll never regret it.


29/06/2022



6 views0 comments
bottom of page